Healing Garden World

By Carolyn Agosta
Copyright 2004, 2011


If this word is new to you, your first question might be how do you pronounce it? The "ch" is pronounced as if it were "sh" as in the word sheer, the "a" as in "ma."

The word chakra means disk or wheel. Each chakra is a vortex of energy. Each of these vortexes of energy holds the memory of life experiences – imprints of important events, experiences and traumas in your life.

Chakras are a major part of the electrical system of the body, the bridge between your physical and non-physical Be-ing. The primary chakra channel in India is called the Kundalini. (In China, Japan, and other Countries there is a different name for this channel). This line contains the most familiar of the chakras. The great central channel, containing these chakras, runs vertically through the body along the spinal column from Crown to Root. For each human being this is the connection between the energies of Earth and the energies of the Universe. It is an important line of communication and potential healing. (See my article on Clearing Chakras.)

Each of the seven Chakras regulates the organs in its area. And a color generally identifies a particular Chakra; however, there are no rules that say a particular Chakra must be a particular color in order to be considered healthy. The colors listed with each Chakra below are generally accepted as the color for that Chakra - and you may see, feel, or be inspired to use another color. Again, there are no rules. Trust what you see and your own experience of it.

The human body has many more chakras and chakra complexes than these. For more information about these and other chakras, see the reading list at the end of this article.

First Chakra:

The Root chakra relates to basic survival issues: food, clothing, water and shelter. It is the survival center. It is also where we are able to draw abundance from the earth. This is the place where feelings of wanting to live or die exist. It is the part of our being that we use to ground – energy flows upward from the earth throughout our being. Associated with the adrenal glands, it sits at the base of the spine; its color tends to be ruby red. The energy for it flows forward over the pelvis and sex organs moving up the body and down the legs. Ones earliest life experiences are imprinted on this chakra including past life, childhood, and ancestral memories – they are coded here. Drumming helps to heal this chakra.

Second Chakra:

The Belly (or Sacral) Chakra located a few inches below the navel is the sexual/creative center. In men, it is the spleen men and in women the uterus (both signify purification). It gathers and holds first impressions and old emotional pictures. Orange in color, this chakra possesses the innocent self, the sweetness of a person's soul, connecting one to their pure creative energy. When we express ourselves creatively, in alignment with the soul and planet earth, we support and heal this chakra. Healing at this chakra includes recovery from past abuse and sexuality or infertility issues. Dance and movement in which the primary impulse is from the pelvis can help release and realign this area – belly dance is especially great for this chakra.

Third Chakra:

The Solar Plexus Chakra, located below the heart and between the lower rows of ribs, (men's power center) provides energy relating to assimilation, like food assimilation. This Chakra, related to a solar yellow color, stores power issues and balances of power. It holds the sense of who you are or are not – your personal identity. It governs more organs than any other Chakra including the liver, gall bladder, spleen, stomach, pancreas, kidneys, and adrenals. This manages the place where one detects and eliminates what is dangerous. And for this chakra, movement is healing.

Fourth Chakra:

The Heart Chakra, located behind the breastbone or sternum, governs the heart and thymus. The primary color for this Chakra is green while the secondary color is rose. This Chakra stores emotions, universal love, and heartbreak. It also holds heartache related to physical and emotional heart pain. Most humans need heart and emotional healing. A well-developed Heart Chakra allows a person to feel, hear, and see other people through the filter of their heart – judging lovingly, holding both joy and sorrow. Love is the product of this Chakra. Deep belly laughter heals it.

Fifth Chakra:

The Throat Chakra located at the base of neck, governs the thyroid and parathyroid glands. This Chakra, blue in color, governs physical and psychic communication; you express emotions from here. It is also the bridge between the conscious mind and the heart and often reflects the conflict between the two. Sore throats, stage fright, thyroid problems, throat cancer, fear of speaking out, all come from this Chakra. It holds information from all of the other chakras. Ones unique expression in the world emanates from this Chakra. This Chakra balances one’s ability to express one’s self (put ideas together and state them clearly and succinctly) and the ability to be quiet (receive and assimilate). Singing helps to heal this Chakra.

Sixth Chakra:

The Third Eye Chakra, located above and between the physical eyes, houses the pineal gland, psychic perception, understanding the Oneness of the Universe. This is woman's power center. The personal realities are created here. With the Crown Chakra physical healing occurs in the brain, eyes, and central nervous system. Its color is indigo, blue-black of the night sky. Ones sense of a separate self occurs here. Here is where one learns to balance intellectual and psychic abilities. Healing in this Chakra includes repetitive sounds, like mantras, i.e., "Om."

Seventh Chakra:

The Crown Chakra located at the top of the head slightly to the back of the highest part of skull, relates to the pituitary gland and the upper portion of the brain. It holds ones connection with spirituality and Universal Consciousness. This is also a place of perception and connection to spirit guides and channeling. The color associated with this chakra is violet or white. This is the place to connect with the Oneness of the Universe. Meditation heals this Chakra. (See Take Five... for article on meditating.)

For more information on Chakras:

--- April, 2004
--- Revised and updated November, 2011